The United Nations and Its Bodies

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945. It is made up of 193 member states. Aims to promote international peace and security, protect human rights, and deliver humanitarian aid.

The UN has many different bodies, including the General Assembly, the Security Council, and the Economic and Social Council. It also has many specialized agencies. Such as the World Health Organization and the International Atomic Energy Agency. Its actions are never predicting, like the betting app.


The United Nations General Assembly is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations. And the only one in which all member nations have equal representation.

Its powers are to oversee the budget of the United Nations. Appoint the non-permanent members of the Security Council. Receive reports from other parts of the United Nations. And make recommendations in the form of General Assembly Resolutions. It has also established many subsidiary organs.


The United Nations Security Council is one of the six main organs of the United Nations. Charged with the maintenance of international peace and security. As well as accepting new members to the United Nations and approving any changes to the UN Charter.

The Security Council is made up of fifteen member states. Consisting of five veto-wielding permanent members and ten elected, non-permanent members with two-year terms.

Read Also :  How Man City Star, Benjamin Mendy Raped Three Women In The Same Night After Pool Party At His “Isolated” Mansion

The President of the Security Council is rotated monthly amongst the member states. The Security Council has the power to impose sanctions. And can also allow the use of military force to maintain or restore international peace and security.

The Security Council is the only UN body with the authority to issue binding resolutions on UN member states. Resolutions of the Security Council are typically passed by a vote of 9 in favor, with no votes against and 6 abstentions. A veto by a permanent member will block the adoption of a resolution. But cannot block its passage if it is adopted by a vote of 9 in favor with no other permanent members voting against. The Security Council has been criticized for its lack of transparency and accountability.

As well as for its ineffectiveness in dealing with some of the world’s most pressing problems.


The United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations. Responsible for coordinating the economic and social fields of the organization.

The Council has 54 member states, which each serve three-year terms on the Council.

The president of the Council is elected by the General Assembly for a one-year term and can be re-elected for an additional term.

The Council handles promoting higher standards of living, full employment. Economic and social progress; identifying solutions to international economic, social, and health problems. Facilitating international cultural and educational cooperation.

Read Also :  Chelsea owner blocks Cesar Azpilicueta move to Barcelona

The Council also works to strengthen the United Nations system by serving as a forum. For discussion and coordination on a wide range of international issues. The United Nations Economic and Social Council has played a vital role in the development of the United Nations.

And the promotion of international cooperation.

The Council has helped to shape the international response to global challenges. Such as poverty, disease, and environmental degradation. The Council has also worked to promote respect for human rights and to advance the goals of the United Nations.


The United Nations World Health Organization (WHO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations that is concerned with international public health. It was established on 7 April 1948, with headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland. The WHO is a member of the United Nations Development Group. Its predecessor, the Health Organization, was an agency of the League of Nations. The WHO’s constitution states its main objective as “the attainment by all peoples of the highest possible level of health.” It is a coordinating body, setting international health standards and promoting and monitoring health reports. It also assists countries in planning and implementing health care services. The WHO is the world’s leading health organization. The WHO’s primary function is to direct international health within the United Nations system and to lead partners in global health responses. The WHO is governed by the World Health Assembly, a forum for health policy dialogue for all Member States of the UN. The Health Assembly is composed of all WHO Member States. The Assembly elects the WHO’s Executive Board, which in turn appoints the Director-General of the WHO. The current Director-General is Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus. The WHO’s work is guided by the global health priorities set by the World Health Assembly. These priorities include:

Read Also :  Transfer: Manchester United Sign Eriksen On Three-Year Deal

– Promoting health and well-being for all

– Ensuring access to quality health care

– Combating communicable diseases

– Informing, educating, and empowering people about health

– Building resilient health systems

– Promoting research and development


The WHO also has a number of regional offices around the world.



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.